BREAKING: Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA World Player Of The Year


Zidane became the first ever coach to win back-to-back Champions League titles as Real Madrid beat Juventus in the final in May.

He won the award in 2008, before Messi claimed the accolade four times between 2009 and 2012.

Ronaldo lined up with great rival Lionel Messi and Neymar in attack.

The post BREAKING: Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA World Player Of The Year appeared first on Channels Television.

Lieke Martens won the FIFA women's player of the year.

As a result of Taumalolo's snub and the absences of Jesse Bromwich, Kevin Proctor, Tohu Harris and Kieran Foran, the Kiwis' Cup chances appear thin. His start to the new campaign has been scintillating: 15 goals and five assists in 14 matches for Barca and a World Cup qualifying hat-trick for Argentina.

"And I think I say everything". This is a great moment for me. Many thanks to everyone who voted for me too. "This is a very special prize".

Cristiano Ronaldo has maintained his stranglehold on football's biggest individual awards after adding retaining the Best FIFA Men's Player prize.

The 39-year-old Buffon won a sixth consecutive Serie A title last season.

AC Milan's Leonardo Bonucci and PSG's Dani Alves were in the defence, with Barcelona playmaker Andres Iniesta in a side also featuring Messi and Neymar.

The Puskas award is given to the player who scored the best goal of the year.

The second half was lower-key until late on when substitute Marcelo rounded off the scoring with a sweet low strike to finish off a superb one-touch move also involving Karim Benzema and Theo Hernandez. Olivier Giroud's goal against Crystal Palace is up against strikes from Deyna Castellanos and Oscarine Masuluke.

"I'm delighted to receive this trophy today in front of legends of football", said Giroud. The Club World Cup, U-20 World Cup and the Confederations Cup are showcased.

The 22-year-old Penrith speedster said he and his teammates would use that scepticism as fuel to grow, and to stake a claim for the Cup crown.

The goalkeeper award at the FIFA Best ceremony has gone to Gianluigi Buffon of Juventus and Italy. The magazine still hands out their prestigious award but tonight is Fifa's official ceremony.